Faculty Senate 2019 -2020

Ralph Whaley Engineering Technologies Recording Secretary

Jon McKamey Library-ID-Counseling Elections Secretary

Barbara Ratliff Health & Public Safety

Dave Killen Information Technologies

Julee Johns Health & Public Safety

Stephanie Stafford Sciences Vice-President

Lesli Rice Business Technologies President

Ryan Shadle Humanities

Pamela Ecker Ex Officio AAUP President

Deborah Smalley Ex Officio Adjunct Representative



House/Bruckmann Faculty Excellence Award Recommendations

March 2020

In Fall 2019, the Faculty Senate assembled the Faculty Excellence Task Force, and asked the Task Force to evaluate and revise the policies and procedures associated with the House/Bruckmann Faculty Excellence Award.

Task Force members included Tom Burns, Milene Donlin (Chair), Maya Franklin, Janelle McCord, Julie McLaughlin, Kathleen Pickens, Peggy Rolfsen, Janet Schlaak, and Geoffrey Woolf.

The Task Force members worked diligently during Fall Semester to review best practices for identifying faculty excellence and incorporated many of these practices into the Task Force recommendations.

The Task Force discussed preliminary recommendations with the Faculty Senate in December 2019, and made some additional modifications.

In collaboration with Faculty Senate, the Task Force provides the following recommendations:

- Nominations for the annual House/Bruckmann Faculty Excellence
 Award recipients will be accepted continuously over a period to begin
 each March 1st and to close at the end of February the following year.
 This timeline allows members of the Cincinnati State community to
 nominate their colleagues whenever evidence of excellence is noted.
- Nominations for the House/Bruckmann Faculty Excellence Award will be submitted via an electronic nomination form that asks respondents to comment on the nominee's excellence related to 1 to 3 of the following seven 7 criteria:
 - Excellence in Instruction
 - Commitment to Student Success
 - Collaborative Spirit
 - Contributions to the College
 - Contributions to the Community
 - Professional Achievement
 - Other

These criteria will provide concrete, specific evidence of excellence to be used in screening and voting on award recipients.

- Only full-time, tenured faculty members are eligible for nomination. Award recipients from the
 past 5 years are not eligible. Self-nominations are not accepted. These constraints will help
 maintain the integrity of the award and the selection process, and promote recognition of varied
 demonstrations of excellence by Cincinnati State faculty members.
- Nominations will be reviewed by the House/Bruckmann Nominee Screening Subcommittee, an extension of the Faculty Excellence Committee.
 - The Screening Subcommittee will include representatives of each academic division and faculty not housed in an academic division.
 - O Screening Subcommittee members will include previous recipients of the House/Bruckmann Faculty Excellence Award, including academic administrators who received the award as faculty. An administrator who cannot serve may appoint to the Subcommittee a tenured faculty member who does not wish to be considered for the House/Bruckmann Faculty Excellence Award that year. Equal representation of divisions will ensure that all eligible faculty are given equal consideration during the screening process.
- The Screening Subcommittee will designate 5 final nominees to be presented to the award voters. The Subcommittee will prepare a nomination profile for each nominee, to be shared with voters. This eliminates the need for award nominees to prepare a personal biography.
- Final selection of 2 House/Bruckmann Faculty Excellence Award recipients will be determined by the voting body, including all current full-time faculty as well as eligible academic administrators. Voting will be conducted by electronic ballot, with oversight from the Office of Institutional Research to maintain the integrity of the voting process.
- It should be noted that the Faculty Excellence Task Force was also charged with modifying the charge (operational guidelines) for the Faculty Excellence Committee.
 - A modification proposed by the Task Force is assigning responsibility to the Faculty Excellence Committee, with input from Faculty Senate, for ongoing evaluation and revision (if needed) to the policies and procedures of the House/Bruckmann Faculty Excellence Award.
 - The Faculty Senate asked the Faculty Excellence Task Force to begin work on developing possible internal recognition awards for other faculty roles, such as adjunct faculty, as well as evaluating the processes currently used when Cincinnati State faculty are nominated for awards given by external organizations, such as the Ohio Association of Two-Year Colleges.

If you have questions about the recommendations for the House/Bruckmann Faculty Excellence Award, please contact your Faculty Senate representative.