## Faculty Senate 2019 - 2020

Ralph Whaley Engineering Technologies Recording Secretary

Jon McKamey Library-ID-Counseling Elections Secretary

Barbara Ratliff Health & Public Safety

Dave Killen Information Technologies

Julee Johns Health & Public Safety

Stephanie Stafford Sciences Vice-President

Lesli Rice Business Technologies President

Ryan Shadle Humanities

Pamela Ecker Ex Officio AAUP President

Deborah Smalley Ex Officio Adjunct Representative



## **Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award Recommendations**

## **July 2020**

In Spring 2020, the Faculty Senate asked the Faculty Excellence Task Force (FETF) to evaluate the need for faculty awards to compliment the House/Bruckmann Faculty Excellence Award (H/B).

Task Force members included Tom Burns, Milene Donlin (Chair), Maya Franklin, Janelle McCord, Julie McLaughlin, Kathleen Pickens, Peggy Rolfsen, Janet Schlaak, and Geoffrey Woolf.

After a comprehensive review of best practices of regional and national institutions, the FETF concluded that an Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award is warranted to recognize and acknowledge the contributions of Cincinnati State's adjunct faculty to our College community.

During Summer 2020, members of the FETF developed guidelines for an Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award, building on the foundation established through the H/B award (as modified by the Faculty Senate in Spring 2020).

In collaboration with Faculty Senate, the Task Force provides the following recommendations for selecting Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award recipients:

- Nominations for the annual Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award will be accepted beginning each year on March 1st and closing at the end of February the following year.
  - This timeline allows members of the Cincinnati State community to nominate adjunct faculty whenever evidence of excellence is noted, and is the same schedule used for the H/B nominations, to allow for streamlined management of awards processes.
- Nominations for the Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award will be submitted via an electronic nomination form that asks respondents to comment on the nominee's excellence related to 1 to 3 of the following 7 criteria:
  - Excellence in Instruction
  - Commitment to Student Success
  - Collaborative Spirit
  - Contributions to the College
  - Contributions to the Community
  - Professional Achievement
  - Other

These items are the same as criteria for the HB award, with slight modifications to make them appropriate for adjunct faculty. These nomination criteria will provide concrete, specific evidence of excellence to be used in screening award recipients.

- Adjunct faculty who qualify for this award are defined as those who work in a part-time capacity for the College in assignments that involve instruction, cooperative education coordination, clinical coordination, academic advising, or another faculty role.
- Nominations can be made by full-time and part-time faculty, staff members associated with academics, academic administrators, and students. Self-nominations are not permitted.

The addition of students and staff members to the nominating body recognizes that many adjuncts have limited contact with full-time faculty but more contact with students and staff (for instance, adjuncts may teach evening or weekend courses, or may not be able to participate in divisional events).

- Nominations will undergo a multistep review process:
  - At the close of the nomination cycle, all eligible nominations will be sent by the Faculty Excellence Committee to each nominee's program or department chair for review.
  - All nominations supported by program or department chairs will be sent to the applicable administrator (dean or director) for review.
  - o All nominations supported by both the program/department chair and the applicable administrator will be reviewed by the Faculty Excellence Committee.
  - o Program/department chairs and administrators may choose to not forward any nominations from their division to the Faculty Excellence Committee for review.
- If multiple nominees from a division are supported by the program/department chair and the administrator, the Faculty Excellence Committee will review the nomination documentation and seek additional feedback from the program/department chair and administrator to select a recipient for that division.
- Each year, up to 5 Adjunct Faculty Excellence Awards will be presented, with no more than 1 recipient per division:
  - o BTD
  - o EIT
  - o HPS
  - o H&S
  - o Adjunct faculty not primarily assigned to one division

If you have questions about the recommendations for the Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award, please contact your Faculty Senate representative.