Psychology Club speaker: "Harm Reduction & Dealing with Drugs"

Date: 

02/19/2020 - 11:00am to 12:00pm

Location: 

ATLC 211 (ATLC Auditorium)

The Cincinnati State Psychology Club invites all members of the College community to the presentation "Harm Reduction: The Missing Link in Dealing with Drugs," with guest speaker Dr. Perilou Goddard.

Harm Reduction is a set of practical strategies aimed at reducing the negative consequences associated with drug use. Topics of discussion include:

  • Recognizing key principles and benefits of Harm Reduction practices
     
  • Contrasting the traditional U.S. approach to substance use problems with the Harm Reduction approach
     
  • Examining examples of how Harm Reduction pfactices can be applied to smoking, alcohol use, and opioid use

Dr. Goddard has been a professor of psychological science at Northern Kentucky University since 1989. Her research and teaching specialties are in drug policy, and she has presented her research across the U.S. and in six other countries.

Since 2014, she has worked with residents of the greater Cincinnati region to address the opioid crisis.

in the know
Today's Chef Choice

Spring Semester Hours

(When classes are in session)

Overlook Café

Monday-Thursday
10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

 

Friday
10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Bakery Hill

Monday –Thursday
7:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.

 

Friday
7:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Job Posting

current EVENTS
7:30 am to 9:00 am
ATLC 2nd floor near Bakery Hill
9:00 am to 11:30 am
ATLC 211
This WeekView All

Saturday

6:00 pm to 8:30 pm
Gymnasium (Clifton Campus)
Looking AheadView All
Tue, Mar 03
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Tue, Mar 03
Conference Center (Room 342)
Thu, Mar 05
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Fri, Mar 06
ATLC 2nd floor near Bakery Hill
Fri, Mar 06
ATLC 211
Mon, Mar 09
Conference Center
Tue, Mar 10
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Thu, Mar 12
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Fri, Mar 13
ATLC 2nd floor near Bakery Hill
Fri, Mar 13
ATLC 211
Tue, Mar 17
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Thu, Mar 19
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Fri, Mar 20
ATLC 2nd floor near Bakery Hill
Fri, Mar 20
ATLC 211
Tue, Mar 24
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Thu, Mar 26
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Fri, Mar 27
ATLC 2nd floor near Bakery Hill