FridayJanuary 11, 2019

Surge Cupboard Food Pantry seeks helpers

The Surge Cupboard Food Pantry still is seeking a few more volunteers for Spring Semester. Two options are available:

  • Help in the Food Pantry (Main 137, Clifton Campus) during standard open times each week, Tuesdays from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. or Wednesdays from 1 to 3 p.m.
  • Help with the monthly Farmer's Market held on Clifton Campus.
    • Spring Farmer's Markets are scheduled for three Thursdays-- Feb. 7, Mar. 7, and Apr. 18, from 11:30 a.m. until 12:30 p.m. (or until all available produce has been given away).
    • Also, some help is needed from 10:30-11:30 to set up the Market.
    • To sign up, visit https://www.signupgenius.com/go/409084EACA728ABF94-surge8.

Registered students may use the Surge Cupboard once a month to obtain items at no cost, by showing their Surge Card.

During Fall Semester 2018, the Surge Cupboard had 194 student visits, and the Farmer's Market gave produce to 204 students.

For more information, contact Surge Cupboard Volunteer Coordinator Lachanna Jackson (lachanna.jackson@cincinnatistate.edu).

Congrats to doctoral graduates Haensel & Rohr

Two of Cincinnati State's Associate Deans received doctoral degrees from Northern Kentucky University at the Dec. 15, 2018, graduation ceremony.

Angela Haensel, Associate Dean of Humanities & Sciences (on left in photo), and Denise Rohr, Associate Dean of Health & Public Safety, earned the degree Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership.

Dr. Rohr's disseration topic was “Factors Influencing Retention of Associate Degree Nursing Students.”

Dr. Haensel's dissertation focused on “English Language Learners – A College Vocational Opportunity.”

Daily News schedule adjustments

Daily News will not be published on Friday, Jan. 18, because of staff schedule limitations, or on Monday, Jan. 21, when the College is closed for Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

Daily News will be published on these dates during the next two weeks:

  • Monday, Jan. 14
  • Wednesday, Jan. 16
  • Wednesday, Jan. 23
  • Friday, Jan. 25

If you have time-sensitive news to share, please send your information to the Daily News Editor (dne@cincinnatistate.edu) in a timely manner, so we can keep the College community informed.

The standard 3-days-a-week publishing schedule for Daily News will resume on Jan. 28.

in the know
Today's Chef Choice

Summer Semester Hours

(When classes are in session)

Overlook Café

Closed for Summer

Bakery Hill

Monday –Thursday
7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

 

Friday
7:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.

 

Expanded menu while Overlook is closed

Job Posting

current EVENTS
8:30 am to 2:00 pm
Clifton Campus
9:00 am to 11:30 am
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
3:45 pm to 6:00 pm
Conference Center
4:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Main 128
6:30 pm to 9:00 pm
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
This WeekView All

Friday

7:30 am to 9:00 am
ATLC 2nd floor near Bakery Hill
Looking AheadView All
Tue, Jul 02
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Tue, Jul 02
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Thu, Jul 04
All campuses
Fri, Jul 05
ATLC 2nd floor near Bakery Hill
Tue, Jul 09
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Tue, Jul 09
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Fri, Jul 12
ATLC 2nd floor near Bakery Hill
Sat, Jul 13
Clifton Campus
Mon, Jul 15
HPB 02
Tue, Jul 16
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Tue, Jul 16
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Fri, Jul 19
ATLC 2nd floor near Bakery Hill
Mon, Jul 22
Clifton Campus
Tue, Jul 23
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Tue, Jul 23
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Fri, Jul 26
ATLC 2nd floor near Bakery Hill